“Always find the funny” – Amy Susan Crohn

I’m experiencing one of the worst migraine episodes of my life. It’s like having something crushing my head like a lemon and no sleep or rest can mitigate it.

The worst thing about being sick is not pain, but the lack of independence, the lack of enjoying everyday things (even typing on the laptop is painful) and the difficulty in doing everyday’s tasks. It’s something that destroys you physically and psychologically. And people get easily tired of having around an always complaining human being so expect no compassion, above all from those who think “it’s all in your head”.

I haven’t been diagnosed yet, but the more I read about it, the more I identify my invisible illness with Fibromyalgia, a long-term condition that causes pain all over the body and that has some awesome friends I usually hang with, as

  • Extreme tiredness
  • Muscle stiffness and paresthesias
  • Troubled sleeping
  • Fibro-fog, a lovely confusion in your head that brings problems with memory and concentration.
  • Headaches
  • Fucked up stomach and bowel (I also have gluten intolerance)

I consider myself a fighter, I try to face everything, but it’s hard and sometimes I’m paranoid because I always fear to die. That’s why yesterday I molested all my best friends telling them I loved them, because, well, you never know.

I don’t know if and when I will get out of this shit, but when I have money, I want to tattoo, beside a triquetra, these lines from The Script: “every day, every hour, turn the pain into power”.

TRACK OF THE DAY: Superheroes- The Script

 

Leave a Reply

