“The purpose of art is washing the dust of daily life off our souls” Pablo Picasso

JD is probably working on an interesting social experiment and he launched the trend #WhyArt asking what art meant to people and telling everybody that it changed his life. I know him enough to know that he wasn’t pointing out the financial improvements, or the artists he hung with or the places he had the chances to visit thanks to his work. He was probably referring to how making music helped him to meet lots of different people, to know different cultures and way of thinking. I’m sure this helped him to grow both as a man and as an artist.

So what is art to me? First of all therapy no matter if I’m creating or enjoying it: it helps me to let out my feelings and emotions.

Second: any kind of art provides a temporary but necessary escape from my problems and from the madness of the world that lately seems sicker than ever. It is powerful since it can change moods and inspires people to make a deep search in themselves or face their feelings.

Third: art is the last form of magic left and makes me feel the beauty of freedom. I feel happy and free when I write, but also when I listen a good song, stare a painting or read a book.

So, to cut a long story short: art is what makes life awesome, and JD is a wonderful piece of art.

TRACK OF THE DAY:Moments in love- Art of noise

 

Leave a Reply

