“Arts are our capacity to make” Aristotle

Catturaq

I’d like to continue last post’s issue because it’s important to me. As I said, I consider arts as therapies, I feel better when I write or do something creative and I switch the world off whenever I listen to a song or I start a new book.

I’m currently unemployed due to my health conditions and it’s difficult to get some translations jobs to do from home, but I still think it’s important to invest the very little money I have in art. Here you can see my Wreck this journal when I haven’t started it already, whose motto is “to create is to destroy”. It’s a journal with some tasks you have to follow, tasks that really involve weirdest way to create, as “Rub here with dirt” or “Sew this page” because the aim of this journal is not having a beautiful perfect piece of art, but bringing out people’s creativity, overcome their limits or the fear of not doing well. That’s why, in my opinion, Keri Smith ironically dedicated it to perfectionists all over the world. I love this idea that the creative process is more important than the end product, so I shared it immediately. It will be very helpful to distract me from pain or depression (in the end social medias are frustrating, with all those people having fun or having a normal life) and it would be a good company during my hospital shit or in the doctors’ waiting room. I will share my progress (oh, how interesting, right?) posting finished pages here.

The song I chose for this post is inspired to one of Frida Khalo’s pieces of art. Chris Martin said in an interview that he christened this song and the album “Viva la Vida” after he saw the phrase on a painting by the Mexican artist. He explained: “She went through a lot of shit, of course, and then she started a big painting in her house that said ‘Viva la Vida.’ I just loved the boldness of it.”

11520

So again, I’m back to JD’s question: why art? Because creating lifts souls, because any kind of art makes the world a better place to live in.

TRACK OF THE DAY:  Viva la vida- Coldplay

Leave a Reply

