“Climb mountains not so the world can see you but so you can see the world” Unknown

My trips are always on budget and distant away from tourists traps, so instead of paying 30€ to enjoy a 71st floor view from the well known Shard, I enjoyed an extra cool view of the City from the 35th floor of the Sky Garden for free. You just need to go here https://skygarden.london/booking and book your visit, please be aware that a limited number of tickets are available each day.

o get there I took the District line and got off at Monument station. On the way I enjoyed the view of the Monument that stands at the junction of Monument Street and Fish Street Hill. It was built between 1671 and 1677 to commemorate the Great Fire of London and to celebrate the rebuilding of the City and if you’re brave enough you can.climb the 311 spiral steps to the observation gallery and enjoy a pretty good view of London, but why getting tired if a few steps away there’s the Sky Garden? You need to queue, show your ticket or the screen of the booking confirmation, show your documents and after an airport alike scanning system (they laughed a lot seeing the banana in my bag), you’re allowed to the super fast lift that will bring you in seconds to the 35th floor.

The view from the outside terrace is breathtaking and you can have a 360° view of the whole City simply going around the garden. On the windows there’s the name of the monuments, so you can know what you’re looking at. The location is amazing because it’s not only a panoramic site, but also a garden. The roof is made of glass as in a greenhouse, I was lucky I went there on a sunny day so I had a lovely natural light for my pics.

 

There are bars and restaurants (you need to book a table in advance even if you may be a lucky walk in guest) where you can have a drink or something to eat. And at night you can enjoy some good live music. I can tell if they serve gluten free food; I saw some gf muffins, but since my visits were only alcohol oriented I simply told the waiter about my intolerance and had a lovely visit.

TRACK OF THE DAY: High-The Cure

Leave a Reply

