“Never make fun of someone who speaks broken English. It means they know another”-H. Jackson Brown Jr.

If you have a look at my categories you will easily spot a spelling mistake “goddness” instead of “goodness”. I hate when I find out mistakes above all on Twitter where there isn’t the edit button, so I have to delete my tweet. I have no clue how to change the categories, so you have to bear it (and who knows how many more mistakes in my posts).

It could be easier to write in Italian, but it’s a language I don’t feel mine, I have an English mindset and honestly I use to speak more in foreign languages rather than in my native one.

I was a curious kid, I learned to read at 3 because I wanted to be able to read the books I wanted anytime and my mom was fed up of me always wanting new stories. When Italian lost all its attractives, I started asking myself what foreign languages meant and insisted to learn English instead of doing a stupid dance course. I wasn’t a genius, I was just smart and I ended to be average when I was 15, as it’s stated in John Green’s “Paper Towns”.

What never ended was my love for languages, my desire to know “what they are saying”, so I ended learning also French and Spanish. It is said that speaking more than a language improves multitasking abilities and it’s a good training for the brain who is forced to switch from an idiom to another, keeping itself active and healthy. Being multilingual for sure helps to understand and appreciate cultural references and nuances. There’s nothing better to read a book in the language it has been written or  being able to understand all the puns in a movie or a tv show.

My best friend is currently trying to teach me Dutch, but it’s difficult and I only learned swearing. We will see. Anyway I’m grateful for this gift of mine, even if I always feel uncomfortable when foreign people speak aloud on the bus or in the doctor’s waiting room, thinking nobody understands them, while I’m able to mind their business.

TRACK OF THE DAY: Speak my language- The Cure

 

Leave a Reply

