“You can learn a lot about a woman by getting smashed with her” Tom Waits

When in London I use to have an intense nightlife, pity I can’t drink too much since my hiatal hernia doesn’t allow me more than a two glasses on alcohol, the same amount I need to get very drunk.

One of the fanciest places I’ve ever been, is Sketch in Conduit street (a cross street of Regent’s street): an unique place where food, art and music meet. The location is magical: there’s an hopscotch at the entrance (I loved it since it recalled  me Cortàzar’s novel) and various artworks on the walls.

 

 

It has five different restaurants and bars:

-The Gallery, where you can have a classy afternoon tea as we did (they also have a gluten free menu) or a dinner; if you’re on a budget I suggest you to check the prices in advance: the food is lovely, but minimal and, to me, a bit overpriced. The location, however, is incredible: the monochromatic pink interior contrasts with the witty David Shrigley’s artworks on the wall, since this place is a part of a of a long-term programme of artist-conceived restaurants. The Gallery’s walls host the largest group of original drawings David Shrigley has ever exhibited.

 

 

Then there are the three parts of Sketch where we haven’t been yet:

-The Lecture Room & Library that is a two Michelin starred gastronomic restaurant.

-The Parlour where you can have breakfast, afternoon teas and evening drinks.

-The East bar that is an evening bar where to have pre-dining drinks

This year we had an enchanting time at the Glade, drinking exquisite cocktails in this magic woodland bar. On the walls there is a fairy tales découpaged forest and the rattan furniture was maybe a little uncomfortable for my aching body, but absolutely perfect for the location. My cocktail was gorgeous and the company even better. I don’t like too much taking pictures when I’m in a bar or in a restaurant, so here’s only a small view of what Sketch is. If you’re interested you can visit its web site: https://sketch.london/what.php#gsc.tab=0

 

 

And here’s comes the reason why Sketch is so popular: its exclusive egg shaped toilets that completed this insane experience.

 

 

TRACK OF THE DAY: dRuNk-Zayn

 

Leave a Reply

